top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah King

Novel Adaptations: For Better

Updated: Apr 8, 2019

Every reader has a favourite novel or series of books that they want to see brought to life on the big screen. And I am no different. While so many of my favourite novels have been adapted, there are three that really stand out.


The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Written by Suzanne Collins, this is my favourite book of the series so naturally I had high hopes. One thing that I had become so invested in since the first novel, was the relationship between Katniss and Peeta. Catching Fire is where their relationship really develops and I wanted so desperately to see that on the screen. Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson had already brought so much chemistry to the screen, I couldn't wait to see what they did next. I was not disappointed. It was so true to the novel, and it made me feel in love with the pair, and this series all over again. I can't fault it.



Discovery of Witches

Now, considering this is quite a lengthy book written by Deborah Harkness, I was slightly concerned when they announced they would be adapting this into a 8-part TV series. Concerned that they would miss a lot of what makes the novel so wonderful and thrilling. Admittedly, I wasn't quite captured by the portrayal of Diana and Matthew (Tersea Palmer and Matthew Goode) in the first episode. It felt quite stiff, but as the series progressed, the love, the passion, the danger and excitement really built up and soon enough I was obsessed. Yes, there were slight changes that were a bit annoying but for the most part, these changes made it better. I can't wait to see what they did for season two.



Outlander

Admittedly, I watched the show before I picked up the books. Oh, I know, shame on me but I did eventually make up for it after completing series one. As if I had not already fallen in love with Claire, Jamie, Scotland and their epic journey enough, reading the novel made me appreciate them even more. Diana Gabaldon writes with such detail and knowledge as she drops Claire right in the middle of embroling Scottish politics and the people's struggle to overcome English rule.

Caitriona Balfe and Sam Heughan are perfect for the roles, and their chemistry is so evident, natural and heart wrenching. The show nailed every aspect of the novel. A true and perfect adaptation in my opinion.


This is just three novels that I believe have been adapted well, but there have been many more.


In Monday's posting.... the worst novel adaptations. My opinion.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page